Hello!  

Join my sister and me as we share our journey through addiction and recovery, from the perspective of the addict and of the family. We share the destruction and our reclamation, hoping to show how recovery IS possible. We hope to help those in recovery reclaim a purpose-focused life and to help loved ones heal individually and as a cohesive unit.

FB_IMG_1593537818347.jpg

Jean Berry

older sister, in long-term recovery

My drug abuse started in earnest with cocaine at age 26, over 20 years ago. I have now been clean for 8 years. My recovery has taught me how to reclaim my mind, body, spirit, and awareness. Recovery has allowed me to stand in my truth and reclaim grace. During my recovery, I earned my master's degree and became certified to help others gain personal insight and make necessary changes related to recovering and living a purpose-focused life.

 

I'm the cool aunt and a cat mom of 2. I live in a cottage in the woods and feed the squirrels, raccoons, deer, birds, stray cats...all the critters. I'm a spiritual gangster obsessed with crystals and green juice.

 

I am Clinical Supervisor at Council on Addiction Recovery Services in SW New York, where I am responsible for curriculum development and continuing education & credentialing for staff.

MS, Clinical Mental Health Counseling (2016,Walden University). QHP (Qualified Health Professional), ICAADC (International Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor), CASAC2-AD (Certified Alcohol and Substance Abuse Counselor-Advanced), CRS (Certified Recovery Specialist), CAADC (PA Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor), Ordained Spiritualist. BS, Criminal Justice and Corrections (1994, Mercyhurst University). I'm currently finishing my Pennsylvania CCJP (Certified Criminal Justice Provider).

IMG_0287.JPG

younger sister, non-user

Laura Demers

I've been married to my soulmate for 18 years, and we have 2 outrageously awesome adolescent boys. I am the youngest child of THE best parents, who are outstanding role models. After living in North Carolina for 10 years, I returned to my hometown in NW Pennsylvania after I got married, because my husband and I wanted to be near family. We have 2 dogs, Mowgli and Luna. I wish we could have all the dogs.

I have been a school librarian for 10 years and I taught high school English for 6 years. Before I was a teacher, I was a technical writer and editor in the RTP area of North Carolina for 10 years.  

M Ed, Curriculum & Instruction (2020, Gannon University).  BA, English (1996, University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill).

I have always loved to read, but I recently decided to intentionally make more time for reading. I am preparing some book reviews just for Reclamation Sisters----books to help in your own reclamation journey. Although I am a non-user, I have struggled with the effects of addiction because of my sister's journey. I have found solace and strength through the stories of other families, and it's just nice to know I'm not alone with these complicated feelings. 

 

I also look forward to using my writing skills and my C&I degree to create Reclamation Sisters courses.

 

Book reviews and courses coming soon!

  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

© 2020 Reclamation Sisters